Three Days and Three Nights

Joy and I have continued with the book of Jonah; for her thoughts on passage go to her blog.

Today God has given us Jonah 1:17 which says:

17 Now the Lord provided a huge fish to swallow Jonah, and Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights.”

How much more of a picture of Jesus can you get? Jonah was in the belly of the whale for three days and three nights, and Jesus was in the grave for three days and three nights. On the third day Jonah “lived” (remember I said in my last post that sailors presumed Jonah to be dead when they threw him overboard), and on the third day Jesus lived!

This is the continuing story of the Gospel from my last post where I talked about Jonah “dying” as a picture of Jesus dying for us! And now we see that our hope (Jesus) is a living hope because He rose from the grave on the third day; just like Jonah did. Of course; we can see that God provides for His people because He didn’t let Jonah die, but the main point is the Gospel that Jesus died and rose from the grave on the third day.

One thing I like about this verse is that it says “the Lord provided the huge fish to swallow Jonah”, surely Jonah couldn’t have enjoyed his little vacation in the belly of the fish! But God knew what He needed; so He provided the fish to swallow Jonah!

Grace and truth, Charity Cleveland

4 thoughts on “Three Days and Three Nights

  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    to find this matter to be really one thing that I feel I’d never understand. It seems too complex and very extensive for me. I’m looking forward in your
    subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

Leave a Reply

