I’m So Sorry

Today I am taking a break from my usual posts to talk about the Connecticut shooting that happened yesterday.

I am very sorrowful for the many families that have lost their children. I’d like to send some encouragement to all of those who have felt the blow the hardest. I hope that you will also pray that those families know Christ and that their children have gone to be with Jesus in heaven.

This murder of innocent children is awful. But Lord-willing those children and those families know that Jesus was innocently murdered so that they could have life in Jesus, even after death. I know that the Bible is the ultimate encouragement:

10 The name of the Lord is a fortified tower;
the righteous run to it and are safe.” 
(NIV) Proverbs 18:10

Please pray with me that these families run to Jesus as a strong tower.

10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” 
(NIV) Isaiah 41:10

Lord-willingly these families will trust in Jesus and be strengthened and helped by the Lord.

I do not know exactly why this happened. But I do know that we can pray for these families that they will be strengthened. Dear Heavenly Father, please help these families through this tough time. Please let this terrible thing bring them to you; please strengthen them and hold them in your arms. Please let those that were lost be with you right now, at your right hand. And please let those families know that no matter what happens, you are their stronghold and their deliverer. In your name Jesus, amen.

Also, please pray for the one that killed so many people. Please pray that he would be brought to faith in Christ and that he could be a light in the world. Thank you all for your support of these hurting families in Newtown, Connecticut.

A moment of silence:

 

 

 

 

 

Grace and truth, Charity Cleveland

4 thoughts on “I’m So Sorry

  1. I felt SO deeply for those innocent souls now gone out of their loved ones’ sight. Oh my Lord, how can this horrible murder happen? What’s happening to the world now? You are so courageous darling for having the nerve to blog about this one. Thank you for sharing this one.

    • I feel deeply for the families that have lost their loved ones. But I am glad that I have Christ as my strength and encouragement as I watch this pain and suffering. I can only pray that those families have that same faith.
      I felt that I should write about it to help those who might be struggling with it. I do not know why God let this happen, but I do know that we can pray to Him and ask Him.

      Charity

  2. Praying is all we can do for them right now, especially if we are a long way off. The question “Why?” is a valid one and sometimes we may never know the reason Father God allowed this to happen. He sees the full picture and we do not.
    This is where I have to ask God “What do you want me to learn, or may be do, in response to this tragedy? What are you teaching me?”
    The words of Jesus, and Jesus Himself, is the ultimate encouragement and comfort.
    2 Corinthians 1: 3-4 says “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.”

    • Agreed, praying is all we can do for them.
      Jesus’ words are comforting, but even the Old Testament was written by God through the prophets.
      Thank you for this other passage of comfort, I know that these families are in need of comfort.

      Charity

Leave a Reply

