Are you?

Hi there! God’s word for me today is in Zephaniah 2:15 which says:

15 This is the city of revelry
that lived in safety.
She said to herself,
“I am the one! And there is none besides me.”
What a ruin she has become,
a lair for wild beasts!
All who pass by her scoff
and shake their fists.”

This was Assyria’s pride, she said “I am the one! And there is none besides me.” As if she was omnipotent and amazing. But really God is the Omnipotent and Assyria fell because pride goes before fall. Assyria thought that they were in safety, they thought that they controlled everything! But they didn’t and they fell terribly.

Sometimes people might think the same thing, they might think “I’m safe, who says that there really is a hell that I’ll go to because of my sin? I should control where I’ll go when I die and besides, I’m a good person!” But really all sinners have to die, they have to go to hell! Why would God do something like that? Why wouldn’t God provide something that was possible for us to do that would save us?

Well the truth is that He did provide a way to heaven! God did provide an escape from hell, a means of being made Righteous. But it requires humility and acknowledgement of our sins. What is this way out of our sin? It is Jesus, God’s son (and God Himself)!

God sent His son down from heaven to be our sacrifice! Jesus lived a perfect life but died as if He had done all of the sins of the world! Because in God’s eyes He had, even though Jesus didn’t actually sin He took our sins on Him and died for us so He suffered every drop of punishment that we would have gone through! Jesus died because He loved us, He saved us from our sins because He loved us!

To accept Jesus as your savior you pray and repent of your sins and ask Him into your heart! Praise the Lord!

Jesus died for us so now we can say “we are safe” from God’s wrath!

Grace and truth, Charity Cleveland.

Leave a Reply

