Obey God… perfectly?!?

Hi, God’s word for me today is in Jeremiah 7:22 & 23 which say (The Lord said that when the Israelites offer sacrifices they could eat the meat themselves), “For when I brought your forefather out of Egypt and spoke to them, I did not just give them commands about burnt offerings and sacrifices, but I gave them this command: Obey me, and I will be your God and you will be my people. Walk in all the ways I command you, that it may go well with you.”

(Real quick I want to say that the pastor did preach today but since I didn’t take notes I can tell you that it was basically about how we shouldn’t be immoral, that wasn’t all but that was the basic concept.) Well it’s pretty clear that the Israelites had turned away from God. But they kept offering sacrifices and burnt offerings. But God was not happy with that because He had told them that if they obeyed Him but they didn’t.

They needed to perfectly obey the law and God and they couldn’t, no one can. No matter what you think of yourself, you can’t. We can’t be perfect and neither could the Israelites, we have flesh and we can’t do the right thing… on our own. Even though we can’t obey God, Jesus died for us and He obeyed God perfectly. And He took on our sins for us and gave us His righteousness and His perfection.

He died for our sins, I know I’ve said this a lot, but do you realize how amazing it is. That the king and the creator of the universe would die for our sins on the cross? That is truly amazing. We should want to thank Jesus for what He has done for us. Thank you Jesus.

Are you trusting in Jesus and His amazing sacrifice?

Grace and truth, Charity Cleveland.

Leave a Reply

