Jesus our lover

Hi, God’s word for me today is in Song of songs 5:16 which says, “His mouth is sweetness itself; he is altogether lovely. This is my lover, this is my friend, O daughters of Jerusalem.”

So this is the beloved talking and she is talking about how great her lover is, because his mouth is sweetness and he is lovely, also she not only calls him her lover but her friend, that reminds me of another passage in the old testament,”

Even now, behold, my witness is in heaven, and he who testifies for me is on high. (ESV Job 16:19)

Verse 20 in the NIV says, “My intercessor is my friend as my eyes pour out tears to God.”

And Jesus is our intercessor He is our friend and He is our lover, in fact He loved (and loves) us so much that He died on the cross for our sins, so that we wouldn’t have to, He actually humbled Himself so much that He became a man (well God-man) and if that wasn’t enough He died a criminals death on a cross, you’d think that after being the creator of the universe and being God that becoming man would be enough, and that He would want a peaceful death, but no, He actually died on a cross, and why? So that we wouldn’t have to, I remember that Caiaphas said this, ”

Nor do you understand that it is better for you that one man should die for the people, not that the whole nation should perish.” (ESV John 11:50)

So that is why Jesus died for us, thank you so much Jesus.

Do you believe that Jesus died in your place on the cross?

Leave a Reply

